Iceland Volcano ash cloud forecast maps

Latest forecasts for the location and movements of the Grimsvotn, Iceland volcano ash cloud. Maps are from the London Office of the Volcanic Ash Advisory Council (VAAC). Updates are provided every 6 hours.

Update May 29: The ash cloud has cleared and the VAAC has stopped issuing advisories for the time being.

- Next 24 Hours
- 5 day forecast
- Flight disruption

Predictions for the next 24 hours

Sunday May 29, 06:00 GMT (07:00 BST)
Iceland Volcano Eruption. Volcanic ash cloud forecast map for May 29, 06:00 GMT

Sunday May 29, 12:00 GMT (13:00 BST)
Iceland Volcano Eruption. Volcanic ash cloud forecast map for May 29, 12:00 GMT

Sunday May 29, 18:00 GMT (19:00 BST)
Iceland Volcano Eruption. Volcanic ash cloud forecast map for May 29, 18:00 GMT

Monday May 30, 00:00 GMT (01:00 BST)
Iceland Volcano Eruption. Volcanic ash cloud forecast map for May 30, 00:00 GMT

SFC/FL200 – Ash plume between the surface and 20,000 feet.
FL200/FL350 – Ash plume between 20,000 feet and 35,000 feet.
FL350/FL550 – Ash plume between 35,000 feet and 55,000 feet.

Images: British crown copyright 2011, The Met Office.

Predictions for the next 5 days:

Friday May 27, 12:00 UTC/GMT (13:00 BST)
Iceland Volcano Eruption. Volcanic ash cloud forecast map for May 27, 12:00 GMT

Saturday May 28, 12:00 UTC/GMT (13:00 BST)
Iceland Volcano Eruption. Volcanic ash cloud forecast map for May 28, 12:00 GMT

Sunday May 29, 12:00 UTC/GMT (13:00 BST)
Iceland Volcano Eruption. Volcanic ash cloud forecast map for May 29, 12:00 GMT

Monday May 30, 12:00 UTC/GMT (13:00 BST)
Iceland Volcano Eruption. Volcanic ash cloud forecast map for May 30, 12:00 GMT

Tuesday May 31, 12:00 UTC/GMT (13:00 BST)
Iceland Volcano Eruption. Volcanic ash cloud forecast map for May 31, 12:00 GMT

Wednesday June 1, 12:00 UTC/GMT (13:00 BST)
Iceland Volcano Eruption. Volcanic ash cloud forecast map for June 1, 12:00 GMT


Europe flight disruption:

May 26
According to Eurocontrol, no airspace is currently closed, and the ash cloud is expected to have little or no impact on European air traffic over the coming 48 hrs.

May 25:
Iceland airspace remains open. Most flights in UK airspace have resumed.

Some flights in parts of Northern Europe have been cancelled: Norway, Sweden, Denmark and Germany. Check out the British Foreign office list for information flights departing or arriving the UK.

May 24: Latest details from the UK Foreign Office shows fights to and from Scotland, Northern England and Norway on these carriers are affected: British Airways, KLM, Loganair, Eastern Airways, EasyJet, Flybe, Ryanair and BMI.

Major airports affected: Aberdeen, Bergen, Newcastle, Stavanger, Glasgow, Inverness, Prestwick.

4 Responses to Iceland Volcano ash cloud forecast maps

  1. Iain Jamieson says:

    Very good map but I would like to see forecasts of the movement of the ash cloud for Friday 27 and Saturday 28 May which might affect flights from Edinburgh

  2. thomas wright says:

    how long do you think the ash will last for. im flying from london on tuesday 31st may to greece do you think it will be ok to travel ?

  3. Anna-Karin says:

    Great map! Thanks. Looks like I just might get to fly home to Gothenburg, Sweden on Friday!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>